Home / Universities / assam / Dibrugarh University, Dibrugarh

Dibrugarh University, Dibrugarh


  • State : Assam
  • City : Dibrugarh
  • Status : Public University

Dibrugarh University, Dibrugarh

Dibrugarh University, the easternmost University of India was set up in 1965 under the provisions of the Dibrugarh University Act, 1965 enacted by the Assam Legislative Assembly. It is a teaching-cum-affiliating University with limited residential facilities. The University is situated at Rajabheta at a distance of about five kilometres to the south of the premier town of Dibrugarh in the eastern part of Assam as well as India. Dibrugarh, a commercially and industrially advanced town in the entire northeastern region also enjoys a unique place in the fields of Art, Literature and Culture. The district of Dibrugarh is well known for its vast treasure of minerals (including oil and natural gas and coal), flora and fauna and largest concentration of tea plantations. The diverse tribes with their distinct dialects, customs, traditions and culture form a polychromatic ethnic mosaic, which becomes a paradise for the study of Anthropology and Sociology, besides art and culture. The Dibrugarh University Campus is wel l linked by roads, rails, air and waterways. The National Highway No.37 passes through the University Campus. The territorial jurisdiction of Dibrugarh University covers seven districts of Upper Assam, viz, Dibrugarh, Tinsukia, Sivasagar, Jorhat, Golaghat, Dhemaji and Lakhimpur. The University Campus extends over an area of more than 500 acres. The University is accredited by National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) with an institutional score of 71% (B grade). The Re-accreditation has also been done in March 2009. Dibrugarh University is a member of the Association of Indian Universities (AIU) and recognised by all Universities in India and abroad on reciprocal basis.

Academic Aspects

The University through the various teaching Departments, Centres for Studies in its campus and the affiliated colleges scattered over the seven districts is imparting higher education in the various branches of learning in Arts, Commerce, Engineering, Medical, Pharmaceutical Sciences, Law, Science & Technology, Computer Sciences, Management, Sports and Teachers' Training. In the University Campus, at present there are 17 Teaching Departments,18 Centres for Studies and one  Institute of Engineering and Technolgy (DUIET) organized under five differnet Schools of Studies leading to the M.A., M.Sc., M.Tech, M.Com., M.B.A., M.Pharm., M.Ed., M.L.I.Sc., B.Ed., B. Pharm., B.B.A., M.C.A., B. Tech., 5-Year B.A. LL.B. (Hons),Integrated M. Sc. in Physics, B.C.A.,B. P. Ed. B.L.I.Sc., M. Phil and Ph D. degrees. Some of these Departments/ Centres also conduct Diploma Courses like the two year Diploma Course in Tai-Language, Post Graduate Diploma in - Computer Application (PGDCA), Statistical Techniques and Computation (PGDSTC), Tea Technology and Plantation Management (PGDTTPM), Tourism Management (PGDTM), Journalism and Mass Communication (PGDJMC)etc. Besides the academic departments and centres in the campus the University has around 200 affiliated and permitted colleges and institutes involved in the generation of human resources in the remote parts of upper Assam.

Vision Statement

"The Dibrugarh University shall motivate and strive for the creation of innovative, competent and compassionate human resources for sustainable and holistic development, for achieving social harmony and ensuring quality living so that the University remains as a centre of excellence and continues to generate, disseminate and apply new knowledge and techniques through state of the art education and research in consonance with societal relevance and changing paradigms."

Courses at a Glance
Masters Programmes  Duration          
M.A./ M.Sc. in Anthropology     4 Semesters     20
M.Sc. in Applied Geology    4 Semesters     20
M. Tech. in Petroleum Geology           4 Semesters     10
M. Tech. in Exploration Geophysics  4 Semesters     15
M.A. in Assamese    4 Semesters     65
M.Sc. in Chemistry  4 Semesters     24
M.Com.  4 Semesters     66
M.A. in Economics   4 Semesters     65
M.A. in Education   4 Semesters     35
M. Ed.  2 Semesters     10
M.A. in English     4 Semesters     40
M.A. in History     4 Semesters     60
M.Sc. in Life Sciences  4 Semesters     34
M.A./ M.Sc. in Mathematics  4 Semesters     44
M. Tech. in Petro. Explo & Production   4 Semesters     20
M. Pharm.   4 Semesters     20
M.Sc. in Physics    4 Semesters     30
Integrated M.Sc. in Physics     10 Semesters    20
M.A. in Political Science           4 Semesters     66
M.A. in Sociology       4 Semesters     50
M.A./ M.Sc. in Statistics
    4 Semesters     20
MA in Applied Psychology    4 Semesters     35
M.Sc. in Bioinformatics     4 Semesters     21
M.Sc. in Biotechnology  4 Semesters     25
MCA     6 Semesters     55
M.A./ M.Sc. in Geography    4 Semesters     40
M.A. in Mass Communication  4 Semesters     50
LL.M.   4 Semesters     40
M.A. in Hindi   4 Semesters     40
M.L.I. Sc.  2 Semesters     20
MBA (Full Time)     4 Semesters     60
MBA (Part Time)     3 Years     25
MA in Performing Arts (Sattriya Dance)  4 Semesters     20
MA in Performing Arts (Theatre Art)     4 Semesters     15
MA in Performing Arts (Vocal Music)     4 Semesters     15
M.A. in Philosophy  4 Semesters     40
M.P.Ed.     2 Years     20
MSW     4 Semesters     25

Under Graduate Programmes                
     Duration                   Intake       
B.Ed.   2 Semesters     90
B.Pharm.    8 Semesters     40
BCA     6 Semesters     45
B.L.I. Sc   1 Year  24
BBA     6 Semesters     40
B.A. in Performing Arts     3 Years     40
B.P. Ed.    1 Year  100
5 Year Integrated BA.LL.B.  10 Semesters    60
B.Tech. in Petroleum Engineering    8 Semesters     60
B.Tech. in Mechanical Engineering   8 Semesters     60
B.Tech. in Computer Sc. & Engineering   8 Semesters     60
B.Tech. in Electro. & Comm. Engineering     8 Semesters     60


Advanced PG Diploma/Post Graduate Diploma (PGD) /Certificate :
Programmes  Duration                       
PGD in Statistical Techniques & Computation     2 Semesters     15
PGD in Actuarial Sciences   2 Semesters     15
PGD in Applied Psychology   2 Semesters     35
PGD in Rural Development    2 Semesters     45
Certificate Course in Statistics    3 Months    20
Adv. PGD in Atmospheric Physics     18 Months   15
PGDCA (Morning Batch)   2 Semesters     40
PGDCA (Afternoon Batch)     2 Semesters     40
PGD in Journalism & Mass Communication  2 Semesters     50
DOEACC ‘O’ Level    1 Year  30
Diploma Course in Tai Language  2 Years     30
Certificate Course in Spoken Tai    3 Months    30
Certificate Course in Chinese Language  1 Year  30
Short Term Thai Course  3 Months    30
PGD in Tourism Management   2 Semesters     25
PGD in Tea Technology & Plantation  2 Semesters     20
Management Adv. PGD in Nano Science & Composite Materials   2 Semesters     10
Post Graduate Certificate Course in Women Studies   2 Semesters     15


Research Programmes:
M.Phil.     Duration

Assamese, Chemistry, Commerce, Economics, Education, English, History, Mathematics, Physics, Political Science, Sociology, Statistics
    1 Year
Ph.D.   Duration
Anthropology, Applied Geology, Assamese, Bioinformatics, Biotechnology, Computer Science, Chemistry, Commerce, Economics, Education, English, Geography, History, Life Sciences,

Management, Mathematics, Petroleum Technology, Pharmaceutical Sciences, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Sociology, Social Work, Statistics, Women Studies

D.Sc./ D.Litt.
     5 Years (excluding 6 Months Ph.D Pre-registration Co

Colleges Affilated to Dibrugarh University, Dibrugarh
comments powered by Disqus

Search University