Home / Universities / meghalaya / University of Science & Technology Meghalaya

University of Science & Technology Meghalaya


  • State : Meghalaya
  • City : Shillong
  • Status : Public University

University of Science & Technology Meghalaya

The University of Science and Technology, Meghalaya (or simply USTM) is a State Private - Research University in India located at Ri-Bhoi, in the state Meghalaya. It is the first State Private University on Science and Technology in the entire Northeast India. The University is established through the University of Science and Technology, Meghalaya Act, 2008 of the Government of Meghalaya. This University is a project of Education Research & Development Foundation (ERDF), the largest educational network in the North Eastern region of India.


The University of Science and Technology, Meghalaya (USTM) has been established under the provisions of University of Science and Technology, Meghalaya Act (No.6 of 2008) enacted by the Legislative Assembly of Meghalaya and notified vide Gazette Notification No. LL(B)87/2008/21, dated 02.12.2008 of Government of Meghalaya.The University is empowered by University Grants Commission (UGC), to award degrees as specified by the UGC under section 22 of the UGC Act, 1956.
Recognition & Accreditation

USTM is recognised by UGC and approved by AICTE, and NCTE, Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India.

One of the influential varsity,[clarification needed] USTM was established in 400 acres of picturesque landscape surrounded by tranquilled greenery in the Ri-Bhoi district of Meghalaya. It is about 85 km from Shillong the capital of Meghalaya & 12 km from Guwahati City, & just 6 km from Dispur, the capital of Assam. The Campus is well connected by Rail & Air which is only 15 km from Guwahati Railway Station & 35 km from Guwahati International Airport.

The Institute is devided into following academic units:
School of Biological Sciences

    Food Science & Technology

School of Applied Science

    Disaster Management
    Environmental Science

School of Social Science & Humanities

    Public Administration
    Rural Development
    Library & Information Sciences
    Social Work

School of Media Sciences & Cultural Studies

    Media Sciences

School of Engineering Technology

    Computer Application

School of Business Science

    Business Administration

Prof. Qoumrul Hoque School of Education


Colleges Affilated to University of Science & Technology Meghalaya
comments powered by Disqus

Search University