Home / Universities / andhra-pradesh / Sri Venkateswara Veterinary University Tirupati

Sri Venkateswara Veterinary University Tirupati


  • State : Andhra Pradesh
  • City : Tirupati
  • Status : Public University

Sri Venkateswara Veterinary University Tirupati

The establishment of Sri Venkateswara Veterinary University was the culmination of efforts during the period, 1955 to 2006 to strengthen   education and services in the fields of Veterinary Science, Dairy Technology and Fishery Science in the State of Andhra Pradesh.  The establishment of three Veterinary Colleges, the first at Rajendranagar during 1946, the second at Bapatla during 1955 and the third at Gannavaram during 1998, paved the way for strengthening Veterinary education in the State.  The Veterinary College at Bapatla was shifted to Tirupati during December, 1957. The College of Fishery Science was started at Muthukur, Nellore Dt. during 1991.  The College of Veterinary Science, Tirupati celebrated Golden Jubilee Year during July, 2004 to July 2005 and the year long Golden Jubilee Celebrations of the College were officially inaugurated by the Hon'ble Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh, Dr.Y.S.Rajasekhara Reddy on 30th September 2004.  On that occasion, the Chief Minister, while highlighting the importance of livestock  and  aqua  farming  in the overall economy of  the  state, announced the  establishment  of  Sri Venkateswara Veterinary University at Tirupati.
In tune with the promise of the Hon'ble Chief Minister, the State Cabinet at it's meeting on 4-3-2005 decided to establish the University at Tirupati and the Sri Venkateswara Veterinary University Act, 2005 was passed in the State Legislative Assembly on 30 Mar 2005.

The University was created by bifurcating the faculty of Veterinary Science comprising of Veterinary Science, Fishery Science and Dairy Science from Acharya N.G. Ranga Agricultural University, Rajendranagar, Hyderabad. The Hon'ble Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh Dr.Y.S.Rajasekhara Reddy inaugurated  Sri  Venkateswara  Veterinary  University in the premises of College of Veterinary Science, Tirupati on 15 Jul 2005 coinciding with the valedictory function of its Golden Jubilee celebrations.


 Dr.Priyadarshi Dash, IAS, Principal Secretary to Government, Animal Husbandry, Dairy Development and Fisheries Department was appointed as Special Officer through GO RT No.383 A.H.D.D & F(AH II) Dept. dated 05-08-2005. Later, Dr.Manmohan Singh, I.A.S., Commissioner, Tribal Welfare, Govt. of Andhra Pradesh was appointed as Special Officer and he assumed charge on 25th May, 2006. Subsequently Dr.Manmohan Singh was appointed as First Vice-Chancellor of Sri Venkateswara Veterinary University vide G.O.MS.No.59 of Animal Husbandry, Dairy Development & Fisheries (AH II), Department, Govt. of Andhra Pradesh. He assumed charge on 15-07-2006 and continued up to 11-11-2007. Dr.Priyadarshi Dash, IAS was the i/c Vice-Chancellor during the period from 12-11-2007 to 14-04-2008. Dr. D.V.G. Krishna Mohan was the Vice-Chancellor from  12-11-2007 to 11-01-2010, while Dr. Md. Hafeez,  Director of Research acted as the Vice-Chancellor In-charge from 12-01-2010 to 26-10-2010. Dr. V.Prabhakar Rao has been appointed as the Vice-Chancellor for a period of three years and he assumed charge on 27-10-2010. He was relieved on the AN of 25-10-2013 on completion of his term. Dr.Manmohan Singh, I.A.S., is the Vice-Chancellor i/c from 31-10-2013.

 Address: Prakasam Nagar Colony, Sri Padmavathi Mahila Viswa Vidyalaya, Tirupati, Andhra Pradesh
 website: http://svvu.edu.in/

Colleges Affilated to Sri Venkateswara Veterinary University Tirupati
comments powered by Disqus

Search University