Home / Universities / west-bengal / West Bengal State University Kolkata

West Bengal State University Kolkata


  • State : West Bengal
  • City : Kolkata
  • Status : Public University

West Bengal State University  Kolkata

West Bengal State University is a newly established university situated in Berunanpukuria,Malikapur, Barasat, North 24 Paraganas, in the city of Kolkata, West Bengal, India.

All the 59 colleges (including Undergraduate, Postgraduate and B.Ed) in the district of North 24 Parganas, which were formerly affiliated with the University of Calcutta, are affiliated to this university.


The government of West Bengal through an Act of the Legislative Assembly has passed West Bengal Act XXVIII of 2007 implementing a long-standing public demand in creating the university named West Bengal State University (Barasat, North 24 Paragans). This became functional from the academic session 2008–09. On 26 May 2008 there were 63 colleges formerly affiliated with the University of Calcutta. They were, through a government notification (No.300-Edn(U)/ IU-38/08), transferred to this new university.

Our Mission

To Create a flow of quality human resource capable of meeting scientific , technological and social challenges of today and tomorrow.
To introduce integrated courses up to Ph D level.
To widen access to Higher Education through introduction of new courses in Professional studies.
To encourage dissemination of knowledge with a view to ensuring better job oppurtunities for the students.
To provide vocational training and programmes to Madhyamik passed students.
To promote cluster concept among affiliated colleges.
To promote convergence of Conventioanl & Open/Distance education.

West Bengal State University
Barasat, North 24 Paraganas
Postal Address: Berunanpukuria, P.O. Malikapur,
North 24 Parganas, PIN 700126
Office Fax : (033) 2524 1977
Telephone : 25241975, 25241976, 25241978, 25241979

Colleges Affilated to West Bengal State University Kolkata
comments powered by Disqus

Search University